First time here? Read this first ×
Categories

Reviews for Sweet Orange & Silk Protein Styling Gel

By John Masters Organics

4
Average rating: 4 out of 5 hearts
0.43757 voted:50.18753 voted:40.1252 voted:30.18753 voted:20.06251 voted:1

By Kim on July 26, 2013

Natural hold with added shininess and volume! 5

I’ve recently made the switch to all organic and cruelty free cosmetics, and in the process I had to get rid of my beloved hairspray. I decided to purchase this styling gel as a replacement product, and it is has done an excellent job so far! I’ve used it on both my natural, un-styled hair and on my hair after curling with a flatiron. In all cases it provided beautiful hold without any crunchiness, made my hair shinier without looking greasy, and added some volume to my waves/curls. I use a quarter sized amount and scrunch it into the bottom half of my hair (sometimes with a little bit of leave-in conditioner if my hair is extra frizzy) and I haven’t noticed any crispiness or flakes that other reviewers have complained of. Only natural looking, shiny waves that last all day! The hold obviously isn’t super strong, but it is more than enough for my needs (I would classify it as medium hold). I will definitely be repurchasing this product. Plus, it smells great too!

By Ashley on March 28, 2013

Just okay. 3

Like all John Masters products, this smells divine! However, it didn’t suit my dry, curly hair. It’s pretty “crispy,” and when touched after it dries little bits flake off. Not pretty! I found that I liked it better when I cocktailed it with the JM texturizer.

By Rachel on February 22, 2013

Light but long-lasting hold for fine hair 5

I’ve been using this gel for a number of years now and it works great on my fine hair. It gives my hair long-lasting body without crunchiness, and a bottle lasts forever because I need so little.

By Lucie on February 15, 2013

Fantastic for curly hair! 5

I never thought I could find an organic/natural product that provides the hold, definition and frizz control my curly hair needs. But this is it! I apply this gel on my(very) wet hair and then immediately set my curls with a diffuser. VoilĂ . Not a flake in sight. Shiny and defined curls without the toxic chemicals.

By Denise on December 13, 2012

Lots of volume, light weight hold 5

Great, light weight, non sticky gel. The trick is to only use a small amount, rub in between your fingers, then apply to hair. No white flakes with this approach, just a nice, light weight hold with volume. I have baby fine hair and this is perfect.

By Caroline on July 6, 2012

Not a Good Gel 1

Smells great but not a good gel. Has decent hold if you don’t plan on touching your hair one bit. As soon as you pull it back in a ponytail or anything it starts to wear off and frizz. Also you will see a million dust flakes in the air if you touch your hair. Kinda gross, natural or not I don’t want to inhale pieces of gel. Totally not worth it for the price.

By Stacey on April 20, 2012

Good volume, good ingredients, good value 5

This one will elicit the proverbial “gee your hair smells terrific” response. I have no issues with white flakes, but then again I just use a touch to add a little volume, shape and hold to my roots. Maybe some of these other reviewers are caking it on. You can’t expect a natural product to hold stiffly like those icky sticky synthetic plastic concoctions of yore – and that’s a good thing. It seems a bit pricey at first, but with the tiny amount I use each day I think this bottle is going to last me a year or two.

By Linds10 on September 4, 2011

Leaves tiny white flakes when it dries 3

Wanted to loooove this. I stopped coloring my hair and, as a result, it’s shinier but flatter, and I’ve been looking for a light, volumizing gel. Unfortunately, like another reviewer noted, this leaves tiny white flakes in my hair when it dries. It also gives really weak hold. Not worth $17, especially for the very basic ingredients.

By Vera on February 18, 2011

Great for fine hair 4

I have fine, straight hair that tends to stick to my head, esp when there’s product in it. This gel performed as promised and would have given it 5 stars if it wasn’t so darned pricey!

By Tina on February 17, 2011

Can't wear black and use this product 2

I love the smell and feel of this product and it held my curls very well but use too much, they turn “crispy.” Worse, this product has a terrible habit of flaking and it seems that the further down the bottle you go (the more you use it) the worse it flakes! Snowstorm!

Products you’ve viewed